Founding Board

Dennis House
Angus Johnston
Paul Epstein
Floy Doull
Lin Jackson

Volume Editors:

Volume 2 (1997): Postmodernism

F.L.Jackson, Angus Johnston, Kenneth Kierans

Volume 3 (1998): Early Modern Thought

Paul Epstein, Floy Andrews Doull, Neil Robertson

Volume 4 (1999): Platonism

James Doull, Dennis House, Angus Johnston

Volume 5 (2000): Hegel

F.L.Jackson, David Peddle, James Doull

Volume 6 (2001): The Family

Floy E. Andrews, Paul Epstein, David Peddle

Volume 7 (2002): Political Institutions

David Peddle, Dennis House, Neil Robertson,F.L.Jackson

Volume 8 (2003): Aesthetics

Angus Johnston, Paul Epstein

Volume 9 (2004): Secularity and Religion

F.L. Jackson, Gary Badcock, David Peddle

Volume 10 (2005) Philosophy and Freedom: Essays on the Life and Thought of James Doull

Eli Diamond, Floy E. Doull, F. L. Jackson

Volume 11 (2006) War

Floy E. Doull, F. L. Jackson

Volume 12 (2008) The Modern State

David Peddle, Ken Jacobsen, Eli Diamond, Neil G. Robertson, Kenneth Kierans


Animus is produced by a permanent editorial board of five editors, who took over editorial duties from the founding editorial board in 2008. Volume 12 is the first Animus volume under this editorial board, and it is the works of these editors exclusively. Subsequent issues of Animus will include editorial contributions from scholars outside this group of editors, but the ultimate authorization and responsibility for the content of the Journal remains with this permanent board:

Ken Jacobsen

Ken Jacobsen is Associate Professor of English at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College, Memorial University of Newfoundland, where he teaches dramatic literature. His main areas of interest are early modern drama (Shakespeare especially), sermons, and rhetoric.

David Peddle

David Peddle is Associate Professor of Philosophy and Head of Arts at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College. His primary interests lie in the history of western philosophy and political institutions, the separation of church and state in particular.

Neil Robertson

Neil Robertson is an Associate Professor at the University of King's College. His intellectual interests primarily revolve around the definition and critique of modernity. He has written on figures connected with the development of modernity (Luther, Descartes, Hobbes, Montesquieu, Hegel) and contemporary critiques of modernity (Leo Strauss, George Grant, John Milbank, James Doull).

Kenneth Kierans

Kenneth Kierans is an Assistant Professor of humanities and social sciences at the University of King's College, Halifax. His research and teaching focus is on the history of philosophy and political philosophy in the early modern and contemporary periods.

Eli Diamond

Eli Diamond is an Assistant Professor of Classics at Dalhousie University. His primary area of interest is ancient philosophy, especially the thought of Plato and Aristotle and the history of their interpretation. He is also interested in the history of Jewish philosophy.

Editorial Assistant

Zac DeLong

Zac DeLong was hired as Editorial Assistant in the Fall of 2008 and is currently attending the University of Ottawa in pursuit of a J.D. He was recently awarded an M.A. in Philosophy from Simon Fraser University in Burnaby, BC.